Rock’n’Roll Las Vegas Half Marathon Race Weekend

Vegas Baby, Vegas! The Rock’n’Roll Half Marathon Las Vegas experience was high energy from the start to end. It was by far one of the BEST race weekend experiences I have had.

The race expo had over 80 different exhibits with great deals and offers. I took shopping advantage of all the deals. The best part of the expo though was meeting my Instagram friend Mina!

My other expo highlight was that my running bestie Venecia brought my Garmin watch. I came to the sad realization that I had left my watch at home. Thank goodness Venecia has my house key and was able to pick it up prior to to departing Long Beach. Running without my Garmin is doable, but it’s like leaving home without your wedding ring.

The 5k race was packed with runners looking for some miles of fun. The course was a bit crowded with so many runners, but the enthusiasm was electric. It was a quick and fun three miles. The music was booming and the crowd maintained a positive energy before and after the race. My kids loved the glow sticks that each runner was given during the race.

 

As the sun began to set we all made our way to the starting line. Flames shooting off at the start of the countdown to begin the race, lit up the sky and had us all ready to run.

I took the first few miles easy and enjoyed the lights of the strip. Around the halfway point, I picked up my pace and to  finish strong. I crossed the finish line in 2:24.

The Half Marathon was the highlight of the race weekend. I arrived at the pre race early to meet up with other runners for the usual fun pics. The pre race concert was headlined by Snoop Dogg. He performed all his “Death Row” classics and added a few others to the lineup. As the sun began to set we all made our way to the starting line. Flames shooting off at the start of the countdown to begin the race, lit up the sky and had us all ready to run. I took the first few miles easy and enjoyed the lights of the strip. Around the halfway point, I picked up my pace and to  finish strong. I crossed the finish line in 2:24.

This is one race weekend that I would love to repeat. The neon lights, music, costumes, and sites all made it memorable. In the end, it was a great running experience!

wp-1479606528950.jpg

Leave a Reply

