Lexus LaceUp Half Marathon at Surfers Point, Ventura

Breathtaking views of the ocean always make a morning run along the beach the best. The Lexus LaceUp race in Ventura had a start and finish at Surfers’ Point which makes it one of my favorite races. The sunrise view over the ocean and crisp morning air created ideal race conditions.

wp-1477513877179.jpg

My goal for this half marathon was to run just for the love of running. I had trained and pushed so hard just a few weeks prior for my full marathon at Long Beach, I was looking just to enjoy the miles. I surprised myself by keeping a comfortable 10:26 average pace for the full 13 miles. This gave me a solid finish time of 2 hours 15 minutes. I was pleased when done to learn that I finished 8th for my age division!

wp-1477512783832.jpg

Seeing some of my favorite running buddies is also a race day bonus! It is always nice to visit a few minutes with the running community and share how the different training runs are coming along. Plus meeting people you have followed via Instagram adds to the race day excitement.



Lexus LaceUp is filled with race perks that make them one of the best running series that I have participated in. My personal favorite perk is the downloadable finisher pictures. I can usually count on 3 to 5 action shots that are worth keeping.



Another sweet race perk offered by Lexus LaceUp is the framed Instagram pics that runners can claim at the race by hashtagging  #laceuplexus when they post.  This is also a contest for the most liked picture with the hashtag at each race. The winner gets a new pair of Saucony running shoes. Yup, I’m the lucky winner from the Irvine race. I’m loving my new Hurricanes and can’t wait to get some miles in them.

wp-1477512832506.jpgwp-1477512686964.jpg

The post-race massage and food offered after a Lexus LaceUp race are a great finishing touch. I tried the Monkey Flip Smoothie and it was delicious! My legs were feeling physically strong after the race, so the massage therapist focused on the tension in my shoulders. They ask the area of your body you feel needs the concentration of treatment and that is the focus of the massage.



My next Lexus LaceUp race will be the hilly course of Palos Verdes. I’m looking forward to this run since it is the only one of the series that I have yet to experience. It will be hilly, but the views from the sea bluffs are ones I can’t wait to experience on race day. Till then, I’ll be working on my costume for the Rock-n-Roll Halloween themed half marathon in Los Angeles next week!
 

 

Leave a Reply

