Lexus LaceUp 10k, Irvine

I’m still figuring out how far I can push my limits. Thursday before race day, I ran four miles to see how fast I could complete the run. I had my best four miles to date. My husband explained to me after, “It’s better to go into a race under, then overcooked.” I was completely overcooked at the start of the Lexus LaceUp 10k in Irvine. My legs were tired and my muscles were sore.

None the less, it was a fun time! Running with Desiree is always a pleasure. She has to be one of the most positive people I have ever met! Every time a negative thought filled my head she said something positive before I could openly complain. She distracted my negative thoughts with comments about the beauty of the course, an approaching downhill, and how close we were to the finish line.   All of these small comments mound up into such great amounts of motivation. Right now, I’m training for the Long Beach Marathon in October. Every long run Desiree has joined me in my training. She is only running the half marathon, yet she paced my 18 mile long run and is coming with me for the next 20 miler. Now THAT is a running buddy!

20160903_102904.jpg

 

Seeing friends from the running community and meeting new ones always add to the fun of race day. Saturday, I worked the race packet pickup. It was so awesome having short conversations with runners about the excitement of the race as they were picking up the race bibs.

The medals and t-shirts this year we’re gorgeous. Each is designed with a focus on the designated LaceUp race. My favorite take away from the race day is the water bottles!  I’m not kidding when I say it’s my favorite water bottle. It even made a post-race trip to the grocery store with me.

Some runners enjoy the post race beer on race day, I on the other hand look forward to the food trucks at the LaceUp races! I splurged on my calorie intake and enjoyed some carne asada tacos. They were delicious treat.

screenshot_2016-09-03-15-16-51.png

One last highlight of the race was the massage tables. Since I pushed so far out of my comfort zone, my body ached causing an IT band flare up. I explained to the massage therapist that my IT band was on fire. She spent the entire time just focusing her efforts to ease my pain. I can honestly say it made a tremendous difference. As we walked away from the massage tables, Desiree commented on how nice the massage was and how it lasted longer than the normal post- race run rub down.

The next Lexus Lace Up Race is in Ventura on October 22nd. I will be running the half marathon. Lace up and run with me it’s going to be a fun one!

20160903_100130.jpg

 

7 Comments Add yours

  1. slowandsteadydave says:

    What a great report. I really enjoyed it. Looks like you had a lot of fun.

    Like

    1. Thanks! It was an awesome event! I’m looking forward to Ventura!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Rebecca Royy says:

    Nice recap. I too like the ‘people aspect’ most about races.

    I am also making a huge effort to be really encouraging to other runners. I have a friend who does this, and I admire and want to be like her.

    Like

    1. Thanks! It was an awesome event! I’m looking forward to Ventura!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Your race report makes me want to run a LaceUp race next year. Looks like so much fun, and it looks like you had a blast. Unfortunately, I will not be running Long Beach this year, but you’ll see me on the side lines supporting all my fellow runners. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s a great race series. Hopefully we will cross paths at a race one day!

      Like

      1. I hope so too 🙂 For sure, LaceUp race will be added to next years schedule 🙂 Are you still an OC Marathon Ambassador?

        Like

Leave a Reply

