5K Santa Run

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/422/80867250/files/2014/12/img_9466-0.jpg

5k races for me are an awesome time to gather with friends and family. Today I kicked off my first day of winter vacation at Birney Elementary’s 1st annual Santa Run. It was great to see students and teachers of the community I teach in to come together for the event. It was also a great chance to run with my own children, who in this Mama’s eyes are really amazing little runners.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/422/80867250/files/2014/12/img_9464.jpg</

The 5K race for me has become an event to enjoy running with my children. Encouraging them to do their best and building a strong love of running. Taking each run as a teachable moment on how to improve their form and pace. I have the greatest feelings of pride when they cross the finish line. They both walk a bit taller with the finisher medal hanging around their neck.

At one time for me the 5k, those 3.1 miles was a gateway run. A gateway to wanting to complete a 10k, followed by a half marathon, advancing to a desire to run a full marathon, and now dreaming of completing an ultra marathon.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/422/80867250/files/2014/12/img_9444-0.jpg

I can recall my nervousness of signing up for my first 5K. A few months before the race I decided I wanted to become a runner. I began running in the mornings with one minute of running then walking one minute. I continued on to running two minutes and waking one. I kept increasing this interval until I was able to run one mile without stopping. When I signed up for the 5K the furthest distance I had ever run was two miles. I was so proud of myself when I completed that race. From then on I was hooked. I fell in love with the runner’s high.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/422/80867250/files/2014/12/img_9450.jpg
Good or bad, at the end of every run I have a sense of accomplishment. So if you are not a runner, lace up and give a 5K a try. You just might find it to be the gateway run to encourage you to mentally and physically challenge yourself to do more.

